Alumni Awards

Honoring extraordinary service among Ƶ alumni and friends.

The following alumni and staff were selected by the Awards Committee of the Alumni Council in 2023-24.

Wm. Brian Little ’64 Award For Distinguished Service To Ƶ

First established in 1937, this is the highest honor bestowed by the Alumni Council. It recognizes Ƶ alumni/ae who have rendered distinguished service to the college and have previously received the Maroon Citation. Mere prominence is not the criterion; rather, the award recognizes those who have worked, over a number of years, with marked intelligence and success to promote the highest interests of the college.

The recipients of the 2024 Wm. Brian Little '64 Award for Distinguished Service to Ƶ are Melissa Coley '79, Andrew Greenfield '74, Robert Johnson '94, and Leslie Wengenroth '74.

Maroon Citation

The citation was established in 1955 in grateful recognition of significant and invaluable personal contributions to Ƶ. A record of service, rather than a single act or achievement, is the criterion for selection. Although primarily an honor to be bestowed on Ƶ alumni/ae (up to 13 annually), the Maroon Citation may also be awarded to up to three (3) non-alumni employees of the University or members of the Society of Families whose service to the institution meets the requirements.

Thomas Baker '69
Gregg McAllister '74
Deborah Parker-Johnson '74
Ellen Keller '84
Jeffrey Sharp '89
Christopher Ackerman '94
Brooke Beck '94

Giovanni Cutaia '94
Travis Leach '94
Liza Snell '94
Alexandra More '99
Udayan Das Roy '04
Mari Jones '09

Jillian Cole '10 (Director of Alumni Relations)
Teresa Olsen (Milone Family Assistant Vice President for Career Initiatives)
Kim Taylor (Dean for Administrative Advising and Student Conduct)

Alumni Corporation Humanitarian Award

Established in 2003, the purpose of this award is to honor Ƶ alumni/ae who have devoted themselves to improving the lives of individuals and communities. This award also recognizes Jane Lagoudis Pinchin, distinguished member of the faculty, Dean and Provost, and Interim President of Ƶ 2001-2002, who in both her personal life and professional career has worked with intelligence, warmth, and energy for the benefit of communities. The Ƶ Alumni Corporation Humanitarian Award honors someone who is unusually committed to helping others and who, by choice of career or other significant commitment of time and energy, exemplifies all that Ƶ seeks to inspire in its students by way of devotion to community.

The recipient of the 2024 Alumni Corporation Humanitarian Award is John Frazier '93.

Ann Yao ’80 Memorial Young Alumni Award

This award was established in 1992 to honor and recognize up to three (3) alumni who have demonstrated remarkable and meritorious service to Ƶ since graduation and who exemplify the qualities possessed by the late Ann Yao '80. These qualities include volunteer work at the District Alumni Club level and/or in Alumni Admissions work and/or in class fund-raising efforts. This award is not based on service while an undergraduate. Eligible candidates are members of the fifth Reunion Class.

The recipientsof the 2024 Ann Yao '80 Memorial Young Alumni Award are Regine Cooper '19, Emily Kahn '19, and William Stowers '19.

Entrepreneur of the Year

This award was established in 2013to honor and recognize the achievements and qualities of an alumna/us who best exemplifies the ideals of entrepreneurship. The award is presented at the annual Entrepreneur Weekend on campus.

Criteria includes:

  • Created a venture from the ground up, transformed an existing company, or created something new within an industry or company which became transformational
  • Demonstrated passion for moving an idea forward to meet a need
  • Leveraged their liberal arts education in achieving success
  • Contributed to the Ƶ community of entrepreneurs and/or students in ways that are an inspiration to others
  • Conducted his or her business and personal relationships with the highest integrity

The recipient of the 2024 Entrepreneur of the Year Award is Craig Hatkoff '76.